French Open Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a look at the French Open tennis tournament.

16 May-5 June 2022 – The French Open will be held at the Roland Garros stadium in Paris.

30 May-13 June 2021 – The French Open takes place. Originally set for May 7-June 6, 2021, it has been rescheduled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The French Open is one of four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The others are i Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

It is the only Grand Slam tournament played on clay.

Barbora Krejcikova beats Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 6-1 2-6 6-4 in French Open final.

Novak Djokovic beats Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-7 2-6 6-3 6-2 6-4, winning his 19th Grand Slam title.

Rafael Nadal has the most wins in men’s singles with 13.

Chris Evert has the most wins in women’s singles with seven.

Andrés Gimeno was the oldest in the Open era to win the men’s singles title, at 34 years and 10 months of age in 1972.

Michael Chang was the youngest to win the men’s singles title at 17 years and three months in 1989.

in 1990, Monica Seles was the youngest woman to win the singles title at 16 years and six months of age.

Serena Williams She is the oldest woman to win the singles title, at 33, eight months old in 2015.

1891 – The first French tournament, the International Tennis Championship, is held and is limited to members of French clubs.

1897 – Women’s singles matches are added to the tournament, but are still limited to members of the French club.

1925 – The tournament is open to international competitors from non-French clubs. The female double is also added.

1928 – The tournament moves to a new stadium. The stadium and tournament are named after Roland Garros and the tournament is still widely known by that name. Garros was an aviator who made the first successful Mediterranean crossing in 1913.

1940-1945 – The tournament is canceled due to second World War

1956 – Althea Gibson wins the women’s singles title, becoming the first African American player to win a Grand Slam event.

1968 – Roland Garros is the first Grand Slam to become an open tournament.

2006 – The French Open awards the same cash prize to the men’s and women’s singles champions, although the disparity remains in all other rounds.

2007 – The same cash prize is awarded to all female and male players across the board in all events. The French Open is the last of four Grand Slam tournaments to make the move for equal pay in cash.

2011 – Li Na becomes the first Chinese national team to win a Grand Slam.

17 March 2020 – The Open has been rescheduled due to the coronavirus pandemic. Originally set for May 18-June 7, the 2020 tournament will run from September 21 to October 11.

– Source: CNN

Rafael Nadal: Story of a tennis legend